A Tribute to a Talented Man

Today one of the best movie writer/directors ever to come out of the 1980s passed away today of a sudden heart attack while taking a morning walk.

This man invented a new genre as well as a new way to make movies.  In fact, the 1980s can be best demonstrated by any one of his movies.  Here's just a brief list of what he has done:

  • Ferris Bueller's Day Off

  • Uncle Buck
  • 16 Candles
  • The Breakfast Club
  • Nation Lampoon's Vacation
  • Home Alone (and Sequels)
  • Baby's Day Out
  • She's Having a Baby
  • Some Kind of Wonderful
  • The Great Outdoors
  • Weird Science
  • Pretty In Pink
  • Planes, Trains, and Automobiles
  • National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation
  • Career Opportunities
  • Dutch
  • Beethoven (and sequels)
  • Dennis the Menace
  • Flubber
  • Only The Lonely

There are many more.  This man preserved and bottled an era with such accuracy and humor, that it is looked back upon with fondness by many.

Many have attempted to emulate his type writing, but none have succeeded.  Ferris Bueller's Day Off is probably the most known of all the above movies.  John Hughes had a talent for making the mundane and every-day, fun and even ridiculous.  He wrote in a way the teenagers of the time could relate to.

With a few exceptions, his movies generally took place in various areas of Chicago, a place he was fond of.

This is one talent in Hollywood I will truly miss.  To me, it's like the day Mel Blanc, my favorite voice talent, died.  No one could never do what he did.  John Hughes was the same, and I bundle him with the greats among history.

Rest in peace John, you will not be forgotten.

3 Responses to “A Tribute to a Talented Man”

  1. Some kind of Wonderful, if I had to pick just one, is my favorite.
     He died a young man.

  2. With one exception, I’ve seen all of these, but didn’t realize their common thread.  Great movies.  Great talent.  RIP.

  3. “Some Kind of Wonderful” and “Roxanne” are oddly close to my heart.  I have been in the character “Watts'” and “Charlie’s”position more than once in my life.  The only thing is I have not seen the happy ending.  One funny thing is I helped a few guys write love letters to a woman (before I saw “Roxanne”) and they ended up marrying them!  I used the same techniques of questioning that “Charlie” used when asking how they felt about them and I’d “translate” it into something romantic sounding.  My buddies screamed, when they saw the movie, saying “That’s you!”  I was given the nickname of “love doctor” back then.”Some Kind of Wonderful” was a very very personal movie for me.  Just change the sexes of the two main characters (“Watts” and “Keith”) and that was me as Watts.

Come on, you know you want to say something.

